Love

So many people over the last few years have told me that they want a relationship like my husband and I. More than half the time I just smile at them. Yet, if they’re my close friends I remind them that it wasn’t always as easy as it looks.

Love takes a lot of time and patience. That is what people don’t understand. You’re not instantly going to have a good relationship with someone if you don’t put a lot of work into it. That’s just like friendships. When a friend moves away and you don’t put forth the effort into visiting one another, you’re just going to stop talking. It happens.

Schulze-467.jpg
My husband and I on our wedding day. Photo by Kelsey Barth Photography

I’m not going to lie. There were a lot of times early on with my relationship with Tyler that I was doubting everything. I was afraid that it was just like every other relationship that I had ever been in. Now when I ask him why he stayed with me through all the horrible things that I did and said (during my really low times while I was still taking antidepressants) he said that he saw something in me and knew to keep continuing to love me despite how hard I made it sometimes.

I owe a lot to him.
He stuck through a lot. I pushed his limits a lot.

I think when I began to finally heal from a lot of my past issues and letting them go, is when the real relationship between Tyler and I began. It was hard to talk about a lot of things with him, but when I finally let it all go, it really opened the doors to real communication. What we saw within one another and continually supporting one another.

Even now, we don’t have jobs that are our ideal careers, but we’re still supporting each other because we know that we make at least enough money to pay the bills, put money away each month and still have some left over to enjoy a few nights out with friends.

Love is tough. Love is rough. But in the same breath it can be one of the most glorious things ever. It’s never as easy as other couples may make it seem. It takes a lot of dedication and in this day in age, it seems that we’re more interested about what’s on our phones versus the very people that sit in front of us. Love is a journey. Especially when it involves a lifelong  commitment of marriage to another person. But it’s never something that I would give up on now as easily as I used to. It’s taught me a lot about myself and how others view me and how I view myself. Also, how to respect other peoples boundaries and how to function well without running away from things that I don’t want to talk about but rather be open about it. Love is a lot of things and it’s different for every person.

But this love, is a love I never want to give up on.

Leave a Reply

