5 Ways To Save

So lately Tyler and I have had a lot of financial discussions. Yes, they’re hard. Talking about your personal finances isn’t easy by any means. It’s a little awkward when you have to admit to your significant other your debts (student and other) even when it’s your personal debt.

When you are trying to set things up for a sound financial future you have to be brutally honest and set out on the right foot or else it may fall apart before it’s even begun. 

Why have Tyler and I been talking about our finances so often lately? Because we want to save enough money for a down payment on a home. Not a big fancy McMansion but a modest starter home. 

I want to share with you some of the ways we’ve been saving. Mind you, not all of these will be practical. 

  1. Save your pennies. No, seriously. It may take a while but we always save our change and I just broke a glass piggy bank to add to our change that I will be taking to the bank and cashing tomorrow. 
  2. See where you can cut expenses. This may seem common sense but sometimes it’s the most overlooked. Going out for brunch weekly? Maybe cut that back to once a month or every other week.
  3. Cut your grocery bill. No really. Try your hardest to see if you buy things and end up throwing them away before you use them. Or simply try shopping at Aldi. Shopping at Aldi has saved us so much money and is where I get most of our produce besides at the local farmers market. 
  4. Have more than one credit card? This may be a me only situation, but I have two credit cards. One was set up for me to first build my credit. I used my own money to set the limit. Now I no longer use that card, so I will be cancelling it to get my money back. 
  5. Cut back on impulse purchases. Walking through Target and see something that catches your eye? Yeah, it happens to me all the time. Don’t carry the item with you. Continue walking throughout the store and if you really think you have a practical use for it, then call someone and ask them if your reasons for buying this object make sense. 

Thanks for reading these tips. 

Have any other tips to share with me on how to save money? 

Kelly 

Leave a Reply

