Review: The Girl On the Train

Warning: this post does contain spoilers! 
Whew. Really, whew. I don’t know exactly where to start with this Paula Hawkins novel but I know this review is going to be a bit longer than usual. If you don’t know the background of this book, click here

I really wanted to love this book as much as I loved Into the Water but didn’t. Although the ending in this book was by far better than ItW. 

This book started out slow for me. It actually began to make me feel a little anxious. A little weary for how this was all going to tie and weave together. But once it picked up steam, it picked it up as fast as a tire rolling down a mountain. 

One ironic note that I jotted down (yes, I began taking notes while reading this book) was the fact that every time Rachel mentioned drinking, it made me want a drink because she was making me so anxious. 

What was really interesting with this book was how it gave a whole year of backstory of Megan and how this all was unfolding on her end while Rachel and Anna didn’t really have a whole year of backstory, just bits and pieces of history every now and again that would come up. 

One thing that really hit me like a ton of bricks though was how Rachel kept mentioning things that would happen when she’d black out. How the way she felt didn’t match up with stories Tom told her of what happened. It really began making me hate him because I could tell that he was manipulating her. He was lying and doing damn well with it. He was making me so angry that sometimes I even found myself cranky while reading. 

A main reason why I was getting cranky about this was because I’ve been in a manipulative and controlling relationship. Never to the extent that Rachel was in, but it still happened during a time of my life when it should’ve have (teen years). I think because of that relationship I was projecting some of my issues into this book and the fact that they just weren’t sitting well with me. 

Another note that I wrote down was how Megan told Scott not to follow her the Saturday night that she left. She made a point to stress that to him, so well in fact that it made him look like a suspect because he didn’t chase after her. He didn’t call her. He just let her be. It wasn’t until the next day when he began calling numbers of people that he figured she’d be staying with that he realized Megan was missing. 

I did enjoy the fact that Paula made a point to dig so far back into Megan’s past as far as what she told the therapist because it really formed a full circle story of why Megan would react the way she did to certain things that Scott would say. Why she would fool around with people. Why she wasn’t exactly monogamous. This is also why I enjoyed the inclusion of Anna’s point of view, although I wish that it could have appeared sooner than it did. 

The part that really got me, it actually made me laugh, was when Rachel was talking about when the paramedics arrived after she stabbed Tom in the neck with the corkscrew. How she noticed that Anna made it look like she was trying to help him but ironically she was twisting the corkscrew deeper into Tom’s neck. That made me howl because it showed that even Anna hit a climax. She’d rather have him dead than have to worry if Tom really believed that she forgave him for killing Megan in an “accident” because she wouldn’t leave alone the idea that the baby she was having was possibly Tom’s. And Tom wanted nothing to do with the baby forming in Megan. 

It was a good thriller. Some parts were definitely page turners while other areas could have been expanded on. Overall though I gave this book a 3.5/5 on Goodreads. 

Whenever Paula Hawkins releases her next novel, I’m definitely preordering it. After reading her two novels I’m hooked on her style of writing, though I hope her next book has a better ending than Into the Water did.

Thanks for reading!

Kelly 

p.s. I do have a bookstagram account, so if you’d like to follow along with what I’m reading, find me here

Leave a Reply

