Review: Yes Please

Oh boy! It’s another review.

So I’m lagging a lot with posting reviews on here, horrible I know. But let’s get this started.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler; read between August 11- August 15

Goodreads Synopsis:

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by. 

My Review:

Whew, where to begin on this one. I love Amy Poehler, but I hated this book. Like, disliked it so much I gave it two stars on Goodreads when I finished reading it. Usually I fill an entire page or two with notes when I’m reading a book, not this one. 


I think you can tell by that last line that I wasn’t really a fan of this. But enough about the bad things, let’s start with the good things. She had a comical outlook for her early years in comedy, she took the hard moments in stride and carried on, pursuing her career in comedy. I also like how she talked about her kids and what they meant to her even though she was divorced from their father. It’s interesting to see relationship dynamics between people and how some people can work things out while others can’t. I enjoyed Amy’s writing style, which seems crazy because then I should’ve given it a higher rating, right? Wrong. While I liked her writing style for its candid moments, I struggled, a lot. 

Although I said I liked Amy’s writing style, I felt that this book was all over the place. Each chapter jumped either forward or backwards with her life in comparison to the previous chapter. If time traveling was a thing, I felt like the Doctor after the Tardis had a rough landing (is my nerd showing yet). It amazed me that no one pointed that out or seemed to really care about that. To me, if you’re going to write about your life the least you could do is make it chronological. I think that’s one thing I loved so much about Mustache Shenanigans. Also, I never figured Amy to be one to hop on the drug train, so hearing that kind of defeated me. But the two chapters I was looking forward to reading kind of let me down; Parks & Rec. I feel like besides SNL, Parks & Rec was another well known place Amy was known for her comedy. And the fact that she said such few words about her character other than it was great playing Leslie Knope, it felt like a letdown. When she talked about her cast mates I also felt like that was another let down, I felt like she should’ve gone into more depth but didn’t. 

Overall, I was really disappointed with this book and finished it because I was really hoping at sometime through it that it would finally pick up and I could finally understand what all the hype was about. Sadly, for me, it didn’t live up to the hype.
Thanks for reading,

Kelly 

Leave a Reply

